Song of the Day #100 – The Beatles

Today I’m featuring a song by a British band from Liverpool, England, that caused quite a stir in the mid-sixties. Perhaps you’ve heard of them. :) The most amazing thing about the Beatles is that they were together for a mere eight years, during which time they produced the most impressive song catalog in the history of modern music. From 1962-1970 the Beatles released the following albums in the US (source):

  • Meet The Beatles! (1964)
  • The Beatles Second Album (1964)
  • A Hard Day’s Night (1964)
  • Beatles ’65 (1965)
  • Beatles VI (1965)
  • Help! (1965)
  • Rubber Soul (1965)
  • “Yesterday”…And Today (1966)
  • Revolver (1966)
  • Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)
  • Magical Mystery Tour (1967)
  • The Beatles (a.k.a. the White Album) (1968)
  • Yellow Submarine (1969)
  • Abbey Road (1969)
  • Hey Jude (1970)
  • Let It Be (1970)

That’s sixteen albums in eight years, or roughly two albums per year. Any one of those records would be a ground-breaking, career-making achievement for any band – the fact that one band produced all sixteen in such a short time is beyond belief. Choosing one song from this incredible catalog is not easy but I found a very Beatle-esque sort of video set to one of my favorite Beatles songs.

Leave a Reply